RIA Fire Loss Specialist (FLS) Advanced Designation

Fire Loss Specialist ProgramRestoration Industry Association (RIA)'s Fire Loss Specialist Advanced Pillar Designation is one of the four pillars of the enhanced Certified Restorer (CR) program. The Restoration Industry Association (RIA) saw a need for specialized education and developed an advanced fire restoration course. There are many informative technical courses and certifications that lead to becoming a Master Fire and Smoke Restorer. However, there has not been a course that deals with contracts, ethics, project management, report writing and consulting in the discipline of fire damage.

The Fire Loss Specialist (FLS) course covers a wide array of subjects including emergency response management, scoping and estimating, pre-structural restoration phase management, project management, odor removal and abatement, impact of heat and smoke on the built environment, fire restoration in unique environments and much more. This designation is for those individuals who wish to advance their career and become a recognized subject matter expert in this field.

View the FLS Course Outline

Upcoming FLS Course

Registration Now Closed - Stay Tuned for 2023 Dates Coming Soon!

Date 2023 Dates Coming Soon!
Time 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Delivery Method In-Person & Online Via Zoom
Location TBD
CE Credits 19.5
Course Fee

$1540 - RIA Member
$1855 - Nonmember

Lunch provided for all (3) days of instruction

Exam Fee A separate $250 exam fee will apply. Prior to taking the FLS Training Course, you will need to register for the FLS exam through the IICRC. You will receive additional information to register for the exam after completing the training course registration.
Cancellation Policy The training course availability is limited to 30 attendees. Please be sure you are available to attend when registering. Cancellations must be made in writing and emailed to info@restorationindustry.org. Cancellations received less than 30 days prior to event start date will not be granted a refund. Cancellations received 30 days prior to the event start date will be granted a full refund minus a $100 administrative fee. Course registration can be transferred to another individual from the same company at least two weeks in advance of the event start date. Transfers will not be accepted within two weeks of the event start date. In the unlikely event, the training course must be canceled or rescheduled, RIA will contact you to register you in a comparable program.

How to Become FLS Certified

Step 1: Meet Pre-Qualifying Requirements (Education & Work Experience)

  • High school diploma or equivalent education 
  • Training school that teaches courses similar to contents and restoration
  • Five years of verifiable work experience or three years verifiable supervisory experience, project supervisor, estimator, consultant, inspector, restoration company manager, facility manager, restoration instructor. 

Note: This pillar program is recommended for those with 5 years or more of active experience in the Restoration Industry.

Step 2: Complete the FLS Prerequisite Courses

To be eligible to receive the FLS designation, candidates must complete the prerequisite requirements in each of the following domains. A certificate of completion will be required as verification that each domain requirement has been satisfied. All candidates have 30 days prior to the course to complete the required prerequisites.


Prerequisite Courses

Domain #1
Basic Skills in Fire Restoration

Both of the following required: 

Domain #2
Hands on Restoration Training
(24 Contact Hours)

The following can be used to meet the 24 contact hour requirement:

Domain #3
Health and Safety
Choose one of the following:
Domain #4
Project Management

Choose one of the following:

Domain #5
Building Science
Domain #6 Microbial Remediation

Choose one of the following:

Step 3: Take the FLS Course and Exam

Candidates must apply and register for the FLS Prep Course & Exam. Be prepared to upload the following documents with your application:

  • Resume
  • Prerequisite certificates of completion for each domain (if you have completed any at this time)

This is the final course for those pursuing their RIA advanced certification, the Fire Loss Specialist, and incorporates lectures, specialized presentations from subject matter experts in their field, case studies and group study work.

Step 4: Complete the FLS Formal Report

Upon passing the FLS exam, candidates must submit the FLS Formal Report within 180 days of completing the course. Once the FLS Formal Report is approved, candidates will then receive their FLS designation and be eligible to be pinned at the RIA Convention Pinning Ceremony.

Restoration Fire Loss Reference Documents


Contact Colleen Duran, COO at cduran@restorationindustry.org.